Specialist in Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine

Contact Us

Melanie Sloan, MS, MLS(ASCP)cmSBBcm
Email: msloan@aabb.org

Senior Director, Quality and Accreditation

Association for Advancement of Blood and Biotherapies (AABB)

About Us

The Committee on Accreditation of Specialist in Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine (CoA-SBBT) under the auspices of CAAHEP, promotes and advances the quality of educational programs for the Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine professionals. CoA-SBBT derives its identity from the policies of CAAHEP and its collaborating sponsors, the AABB (Association for Advancement of Blood and Biotherapies) and the American Society for Clinical Pathology. Together these organizations provide accreditation services for education programs producing entry-level allied health practitioners.

COVID-19 Response

Important Information

Board Members

Laurie Gillard, MS, MT(ASCP) SBB, Chair

Katrina Billingsley, MT(ASCP) SBBCM

Richard Gammon, MD

Julie Collins, CCP, LP, MS

Vonya Drinnon, BS, MT(ASCP) SBBCM


Gabrielle Lewis, MS, MLS(ASCP)cmSBBcm

Michelle Lodermeier, MBA, SBB(ASCP)CM

Melanie Sloan, MS, MLS(ASCP)cmSBBcm

Glen Mayhew, DHSc, NRP, CAAHEP Board Liaison

Helpful Documents

Upcoming Events

Conference Calls

The CoA-SBBT meets monthly on the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 2pm Eastern.