woman applauding

William W. Goding Award for Exceptional Service

The William W. Goding Award for Exceptional Service, formerly the CAAHEP Award for Exceptional Service, is the highest honor awarded by CAAHEP. It is reserved for those who are or have been Commissioners, recognizing an individual who has served the Commission in word and deed, someone who has spoken with conviction about the work of the Commission, advanced its purposes, and actively participated in the Commission’s activities at a high level for a sustained period of time.

woman applauding

Award Criteria

The criteria for the award are as follows:

  • Advancing CAAHEP's mission and goals;
  • Assuming leadership responsibilities within CAAHEP (e.g., chairing committees and task forces, serving as an officer, assuming responsibility for CAAHEP special programs, etc.);
  • Exhibiting notable participation in one or more CAAHEP activities and/or programs;
  • Advancing ideas and/or new strategies to benefit the organization.


Any Commissioner may nominate someone to be considered for this award. Written nominations must address each of the criteria, and letters of recommendation may be included but are not required.


The President and three of the longest-serving members of the Board of Directors serve as the Award Selection Committee. The Committee reviews nominations and selects no more than two to be submitted to the full Board of Directors on a ballot. Each member of the Board has one vote and the nominee receiving the majority of votes receives the award.

The William W. Goding Exceptional Service Award is presented at the CAAHEP Symposium. The recipient is invited to attend the CAAHEP Symposium as CAAHEP’s guest.

Previous Award Winners

2024 Gregory H. Frazer and Glen Mayhew
2023 Katherine (Katie) Kuntz
2022 Jackie Long-Goding
2021 Kate Feinstein and Douglas K. York
2020 No Award
2019 Thomas K. Skalko
2018 Hugh Bonner
2017 Jennifer Anderson Warwick
2016 Calvin Harris
2015 James Atkins and Marjorie Reif
2014 Judy Jondahl
2013 M. LaCheeta McPherson
2012 Nancy J. Smith
2011 William Horgan
2010 Lindsey Rettie
2009 Sondra Flemming
2008 Janet Ghigo
2007 Stanton P. Nolan
2006 Larry Leverenz
2005 Kirby Cox
2004 William Teutsch
2003 John Trufant
2002 William Goding
2001 Leslie Ellwood