Recreational Therapy

Contact Us

CARTE c/o Tim Passmore, Ed.D., CTRS/L, FDRT, Chair

Fellow, Distinguished in Recreational Therapy
School of Kinesiology, Applied Health & Recreation
College of Education and Human Sciences
Oklahoma State University
Phone: 405-744-1811

About Us

The Committee on Accreditation for Recreational Therapy Education (CARTE), under the auspices of CAAHEP, promotes and advances the quality of educational programs for recreational therapy.

The purpose of CARTE is to promote the highest levels of professional competence of recreational therapists through the:

• development and promotion of professional preparation standards;

• encouragement of excellence in educational program development; and

• accreditation of recreational therapy professional preparation programs.


American Therapeutic Recreation Association

ATRA Commissioner to CAAHEP:

Brent Wolfe
Executive Director
American Therapeutic Recreation Association
25 Century Blvd., Suite 505
Nashville, TN  37214

COVID-19 Response

Important Information

The Committee on Accreditation of Recreational Therapy Education (CARTE) is seeking Board Members. Please see the 2024 Call for Board Member Nominations for details and qualifications.

Keeping Up with CARTE Vol. 1, Issue 1, CARTE newsletter

Board Members

CARTE Membership 2022-2023

Tim Passmore, Ed.D., CTRS/L, FDRT, Chair

Amber Arrington, CTRS, CDP

Karley Brouwer, CTRS,CDP, CBIS

David Loy, Ph.D., LRT, CTRS, CARSS I

Thomas Alne, MS, CRNP

Mindy Brown, MS, CTRS

Yongseop Kim, MPH

Serena Maltais, CTRS,MRSc

Emily Messina, Ph.D., CTRS

Morgan Morton, MS, LRT,CTRS

Rhonda Nelson, Ph.D., MTRS, CTRS, MT-BC, FDRT, Past Chair

Casey Weidner, CARSS I

Brent Wolfe, Ph.D., LRT, CTRS, FDRT

Accreditation Documents

Upcoming Events



Additional Resources

Past Professional Development

CARTE Accreditation General Session 2019