Upcoming Events

Conference Calls
The CoA-SBBT meets monthly on the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 2pm Eastern.

Board Meeting

Program Director Luncheon



CAAHEP Board Meetings



Accreditation Documents

CAAHEP Standards and Guidelines (2007)

Request for Accreditation Services for Educational Programs for Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine


Self Study for Initial Accreditation of Programs

Self Study for Continuing Accreditation of Programs

Standard III Resource Matrix

Standard III Program Course Requirements Chart

Standard III Affiliate Data Form


Assessor Documents

Assessor Desk Review for Initial Accreditation of Programs 

Assessor Desk Review for Continuing Accredition of Programs

Program Faculty Evaluation

On Site Assessment Tool



Graduate Survey

Employer Survey


Committee on Accreditation of Specialist in Blood Bank Technology Schools

Technical Specialist, Accreditation and Quality
Meredith Eller, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBBCM

Address: AABB
8101 Glenbrook Road
Bethesda , MD 20814
Phone: 301-215-6540
Email: meller@aabb.org

The Committee on Accreditation of Specialist in Blood Bank Technology Schools, under the auspices of CAAHEP, to promote and advance the quality of educatioinal programs for the Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine professionals.

Sponsors for Specialist in Blood Bank Technology/Transfusion Medicine

CoA-SBBT derives its identity from the policies of CAAHEP and its collaborating sponsor, the AABB. Together these organizations provide accreditation services for education programs producing entry-level allied health practitioners.

AABB (formerly American Association fo Blood Banks)


Board Members

Marian Fortmann, MT(ASCP)SBB, Chair
Karen Byrne
April Hord, BB(ASCP)SBB, MEd

Julia Mallory
Vivian Powell, MS, FIBMS
Jayanna Slayten, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB
Meredith Eller, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBB
Barry Eckert, CAAHEP  Liaison